A password-protected directory or area is a folder that may be accessed only when a username and a password are provided, so no unauthorized individuals can see its content. This option may be used for the primary folder of a particular Internet site or only for a specific subfolder based on your requirements. As an example, if you are creating a new website and you don't want people to see it before it's 100% ready, you might want to restrict the access to it completely, whereas if you want only some people to be able to access specific files, you may password-protect only a particular folder, while the remainder of the site may be seen by everyone. Anyway, a “403 Forbidden” error page will appear if the login details the visitor enters are not accurate. Even a direct link to a file shall not work provided any folder above it is password-protected.
Password Protected Directories in Shared Hosting
Creating a password-protected area shall take merely several mouse clicks and a few seconds when you host your Internet sites inside a shared hosting
account with our company. You'll not need to do anything complex - you will need to select a domain/subdomain, to choose which folder under it has to be secured, and then to input the login name and password that'll be used to access that folder. If a number of people need their own login details, there will not be a problem to create several different usernames with access to the exact same folder. All secured folders shall appear with a padlock icon inside the File Manager section, so you'll always know where this option is active. If you'd like to deactivate the protection function for any folder, you can disable it from the very same section of the Control Panel where you have enabled it.